• Tiger roaring


ParentVue powered by Synergy


StudentVue powered by Synergy


ParentVue Help VIdeo

Synergy Parent Help

Peachjar eFlyers Register today to receive school information e-mails


CHesapeake Public schools Family needs you!!! Become a bus driver

Bus Drivers Needed

MyPAymentsPLus k-12 eMAnagement Solution


Bring Your Own Device


Jostens Yearbook icon


Online School Payments



OSMS – Stay Connected

OSMS teachers will hold office hours Monday – Friday from 12:00 – 1:00 p.m. Teachers may communicate with students/families through phone calls, email, ParentVUE/StudentVUE and/or Google Classroom.

Students and parents may leave messages for the teacher outside of the office hours through email, Synergy or phone. Teachers are asked to respond to any messages, outside of their office hours, within 24 hours during the workweek.


Public Communications Advisory: 3/27/20

March 27, 2020

Message from Dr. Jared Cotton, Superintendent for Chesapeake Public Schools.  

As the weekend begins, I want to share some important updates.

I am happy to report that we have updated our Continuity of Learning Plan to include enhanced and extended learning activities for the duration of the academic year.  The past two weeks focused on reviewing priority skills in the midst of an emergency closure.  

Learning plans for the next phase will focus on reviewing additional priority skills in preparation for new content.  Full details including new plans will be available online Monday. Printed copies will also be available at all Meal Distribution sites for families without internet access.  Most importantly, teachers will be available to support students in a variety of ways including virtual means such as Google Meet and Google Classroom.   We are also adding resources for exceptional learners and we continue to expand our list of online learning tools.  During this phase, students enrolled in Advanced Placement, International Baccalaureate, Virtual Virginia, and Dual Enrollment courses will receive further instructions from their teachers. 

We have also completed our Technology Needs Assessment survey with our families and we are developing a plan to assist those who may need technology resources.  It is important to note that priority will be given to seniors and students completing credit-bearing courses.

Beginning Tuesday, March 31, 2020, parents who have an URGENT need to collect their child’s essential personal belongings from the school should e-mail their child’s principal or contact the school by phone during regular school hours to make arrangements.    

We know there are more questions to address and we are working closely with the Virginia Department of Education for guidance and we will provide updates as information becomes available.  For the most up-to-date information, please visit our website, www.cpschools.com, and I encourage you to use the COVID-19 questions tab if you need assistance.   

Finally, I want to express my sincere appreciation for every member of our school community for coming together during this difficult time. The outpouring of support we have received from our school family has been amazing.  Thank you for your continued patience and support as we all adjust to these extraordinary circumstances. I am confident that we will successfully navigate this challenge together.  Remember, stay home, stay safe, and stay connected.


OSMS is a Purple Star School

Purple Star SchoolOscar Smith Middle is proud to be recognized as a “Purple Star” School by the Virginia Council on the Interstate Compact for Military Children. The Purple Star designation is awarded to military-friendly schools that have demonstrated their commitment to meeting the needs of military-connected students and their families.

Progress/Report Card Dates

Report Card

Marking Period Progress Report Report Card
1st October 11 November 13
2nd January 2 January 29
3rd March 5 April 6
4th May 18 June 17


Last Revised 3/29/2020